Nine Carleton Community Members Appointed to the Order of Canada

The Carleton University community extends its congratulations to nine members recently named to the Order of Canada in recognition of their success and commitment to making a difference in their communities.

The latest cohort was announced on June 29, 2022. Carleton community appointees include current and former faculty members, philanthropists, alumni and leaders.

Order of Canada insignia

Frances Abele, Chancellor’s Professor at the School of Public Policy and Administration (SPPA) in the Faculty of Public Affairs, was name a Member of the Order “for her contributions to public policy and administration as one of Canada’s pre-eminent scholars of northern policy and Indigenous political development.”

Abele is a supervisor of Indigenous Policy and Administration and former director of SPPA. She is the former Academic Director of the Carleton Centre for Community Innovation and is a founder of the Graduate Diploma in Indigenous Policy and Administration. From 1992–96, she was part of the research directorate at the Royal Commission on Aboriginal Peoples. During her career, she has worked with Indigenous peoples across Canada and parts of the circumpolar Arctic.  Canada and parts of the circumpolar Arctic.

Naomi Azrieli, chair and chief executive officer (CEO) of the Azrieli Foundation. Azrieli was named an Officer of the Order “for her leadership in business and for contributing to health care, science, education and the community through her family’s foundation.”

In 2008, the Azrieli Foundation made a generous donation to the Carleton School of Architecture. This established a permanent endowment allowing the university to introduce the school’s PhD program and undergraduate program in environmentally sustainable architecture, among other important expansions, scholarships and upgrades. Today, the school is named the Azrieli School of Architecture and Urbanism

Alberto Pérez-Gómez, former faculty member and director from 1984 to 1986 of what is now known as the Azrieli School of Architecture and Urbanism, has been named an Officer of the Order “for his contributions to architectural education as a renowned historical theorist, and for his phenomenological approach in discourse.”

Past Chair of Carleton’s Board of Governors, Jacques Jean Meor Shore has been named a Member of the Order “for his numerous professional and volunteer contributions as a distinguished lawyer and negotiator.” Shore currently serves as a member of the Global Water Institute Advisory Board.

Hereditary Chief Stephen Joseph Augustine (MA/99) of Elsipogtog First Nation, N.B., has been named a Member of the Order “for advancing Mi’kmaq studies, and for sharing his scholarly expertise and traditional knowledge with private and public organizations across Canada.”

James Lloyd Cassels (BAPass/76), former President of the University of Victoria, was named a Member to the Order “for his contributions as a university administrator and law scholar, and for his commitment to improving access to higher education.”

Deborra Jane Hope (BJ/79), was named as a Member of the Order “for her contributions to Canadian journalism as a reporter and anchor, and for her tireless involvement as a volunteer.”

Robert Stewart Wyatt, (ALHD/17), was named as a Member of the Order “for his leadership in improving the regulation of Canadian charities, and for his unrelenting advocacy on behalf of the entire sector.” Wyatt received an honorary doctorate from Carleton in 2017. He has been involved in Carleton’s Master of Philanthropy and Nonprofit Leadership program as well as the Master of Public Policy and Administration’s capstone project.

The Honourable Marion Buller, a former Carleton student, was named as a Member of the Order “for her leadership in Indigenous rights advocacy as the first woman of a First Nation to be appointed to the Provincial Court of British Columbia.” She is the current Chancellor of the University of Victoria.

About the Order of Canada

Established in 1967 by Queen Elizabeth, the Order of Canada is the pillar of the Canadian honours system. Becoming a member recognizes outstanding contributions at the local or regional level or in a special field of activity. The Order of Canada is one of the country’s highest civilian honours with three levels of appointment: companion, officer and member.

Carleton Newsroom

Wednesday, July 6, 2022 in News Releases
Share: Twitter, Facebook

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *